top of page
Search
  • Laurie J. Jackson

Words2Art: Fierce

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

If a set of rocks can be as fierce as a dragon, so can you.

Stand up and be heard.

Roar!


“Pareidolia is the tendency to perceive a specific, often meaningful image in a random or ambiguous visual pattern.” ~Merriam-Webster dictionary


I knew what I wanted to create before I started looking through my childhood rock collection. Instead of pointing at a pile of rocks, I wanted people to see a dragon. Some of the rocks were collected over the years from playgrounds, and trips I’ve taken. Those that shine, were made from my neighbor’s rock tumbler, while others came from one of those giftshops that held bins of rocks that you filled full into a felt bag. I have so many, it’s time to make some use out of them.

I first made a pile of rocks that made me think of wings, clear and white, iridescent with the sky. Then, I found my heavy dragon body, placing them together to a long tail, neck, and head. I placed rocks in different places till they seemed to fit together, connecting them like a puzzle. I filled in the spine, scales, and claws. I gave the sharp-edged rock a face to match the fierceness. Now, you can see it too!

An earth dragon. Born of rock and made by me. I encourage you to look and see more than just the object that is in front of you. Be fierce and bold! Cut, break, and glue together till you can get others to see it with you.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page